Home | Virtual FormGuide | Virtual Tipping Team | Cyberhorse Racing Clubs | Virtual Saleyard
blb.gif (108 bytes) trx.gif (807 bytes) brb.gif (108 bytes)
vineh.gif (4503 bytes)
08/03/02 Australian Cup Facts and Trivia
The $1.25 million Australian Cup will be run over 2000 metres at Flemington on Monday with a classy field set to clash.

Here is some and some helpful (and useless) facts on the Group One event.

  • The race was first run in 1863 and was won by Barwon. Flatcatched was second and Saturn was third. The race was run over 18 furlongs (3600m) and the winner ran the distance in 4 minutes 27 seconds.
  • Woodman, not the present day stallion, was the first dual winner of the race. He won the Cup in both 1865 and 1866. He went close to a three-peat when he finished second to Tim Whiffler in 1867. He was also second to Gasworks in 1869.
  • The last mare to win the race was the Bart Cummings trained Dane Ripper in 1998.
  • The Australian Cup has been run at weight-for-age since 1979.
  • The last back to back winner was the mighty Vo Rogue. "Vo" downed Super Impose in 1989 and then backed up twelve months later to beat Better Loosen Up and Super Impose. Vo Rogue also finished second to the bolted Dandy Andy in 1988 and second to Better Loosen Up in 1991.
  • Other back to back winners were Craftsman (1965/6) and Welkin Prince (1962/3).
  • Bart Cummings holds the training record with twelve winners. His last came when he trained the quinella (Dane Ripper and Delinquent) in 1998. Bart has won three Cups in the past ten years.
  • Last year's winner Northerly is expected to start favourite in Monday's race as he attempts to win consecutive Cups.
  • Greg Childs has won two of the last three Cups. He was aboard Northerly last year as well as Istidaad for the late Peter Hayes two years earlier.
  • Dane Ripper (1998) is the last favourite to win.
  • Seven of the past ten winners of the Australian Cup were winners at their previous start. However, the past two winners were both beaten in their final lead up run.
  • Two Perth trained horses have won the race in the past seven years. Last year's winner Northerly was following in the footsteps of the former top mare Starstruck who beat Jeune in 1995.
  • Only one two-worded horse (Dane Ripper) has won the race in the past nine years.
  • Saintly is the only three-year-old to win in the past ten years. He is one of eleven to attempt to win the event. Dulcify is the only horse of that age to win during the weight-for-age era. Royal Code is a good chance to boost the three-year-old's record.
  • The honour roll for the Australian Cup is like a who's who of racing. Past winners include Northerly, Octagonal, Saintly, Durbridge, Let's Elope, Better Loosen Up, Vo Rogue, Bonecrusher, Dulcify, Hyperno, Ming Dynasty, Leilani, Gay Icarus, Craftsman, Welkin Prince, Hellion, Malua, Protos and Tim Whiffler.
  • Northerly holds the race and track record after his runaway win last year.
  • Among the high profile horses to be placed (and not won a Cup) include Jeune, Mahogany, Super Impose, At Talaq, Lawman, Manikato, How Now, Tails, Old Rowley, Melos, Carbine and Sir Tatton.
  • Four horses in the past ten years have won the St George Stakes at their final run before the Cup. Northerly this year will be hoping to make it five from eleven.
  • The last grey to win the race was Noble Peer in 1985.
  • Horses named after places in Australia to have won in the early days include Richmond, Lochiel, Broken Hill and Ringwood.

Home -- About Greg -- Older Stories -- The Virtual FormGuide

vine.gif (4739 bytes)

blb.gif (108 bytes) trx.gif (807 bytes) brb.gif (108 bytes)


[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Featured Horse

Click on Me
Featured Stallion

Click on Me
Featured Listing

Click on Me
Bill Saunders
Greg Irvine
Peter Mullen
Jenny Barnes
Brian Russell
Quentin Lang
Fiona Tomlin
Berni Saunders
Katrina Partridge
Jo Adams
Martin King
Gaye Gauci
blb.gif (108 bytes) trx.gif (807 bytes) brb.gif (108 bytes)