Home | Virtual FormGuide | Virtual Tipping Team | Cyberhorse Racing Clubs | Virtual Saleyard
blb.gif (108 bytes) trx.gif (807 bytes) brb.gif (108 bytes)
vineh.gif (4503 bytes)
08/03/02 Newmarket Handicap Facts and Trivia
The $752,500 Rosemount Estate Newmarket Handicap will be run over 1200 metres at Flemington tomorrow with a classy field set to clash.

Here is some and some helpful (and useless) facts on the Group One event.

  • The race was first run in 1874 and was won by Maid of Avenel. Atalanta was second and Poodle was third. The race was run in 1 minute 17 seconds.
  • The first back to back winner of the race was Aspen, who skiied to victory in both 1880 and 1881.
  • The race has always been over 1200 metres or six furlongs.
  • The last back to back winner was the mighty sprinter Razor Sharp. He downed Penny Edition and Pure of Heart in 1982 and then backed up twelve months later to beat Ideal Planet and Forgone Conclusion.
  • Other back to back winners were Correct (1960/1) and Gothic (1927/8).
  • Last year's winner was the Russell Cameron trained Toledo. He was ridden to victory by Damien Oliver. Toledo is in tomorrow's race attempting to defend his victory.
  • Damien Oliver is the only jockey to have been a multiple winner in the past ten years. He rode both Schillaci and Toledo to victory in recent times.
  • Only two of the past ten winners of the Newmarket Handicap were winners at their previous start. Last year Toledo only managed to finish eighth in the Oakleigh Plate at his previous run.
  • The race has a great record of producing leading stallions. Past winners to have headed to stud have included General Nediym, Mookta, Century, Manihi and Heroic. Past placegetters who headed to stud include Umatilla, Clay Hero, Rancho Ruler, Sequalo, Always Welcome and Hula Chief. This year Sudurka will be having his final run before retiring to Waikato Stud in New Zealand.
  • Three of the past four winners have been three-year-olds (General Nediym, Isca and Miss Pennymoney). Last year's winner Toledo was seven when he saluted.
  • The honour roll for the Newmarket Handicap is like a who's who of racing. Past winners include General Nediym, Primacy, Schillaci, Shaftesbury Avenue, Placid Ark, Razor Sharp, Maybe Mahal, Toy Show, Cap D'Antibes, Century, Baguette, Ripa, Correct, Bernborough, Ajax, Aurie's Star, Waltzing Lily, Gothic, Heroic, Wakeful and Malua.
  • The race record is held by the 2000 winner Miss Pennymoney. When the filly won she stopped the clock at 1 minute 7.6 seconds, two tenths faster than the previous year's winner Isca, another three-year-old filly at the time of the win.
  • Among the high profile horses to be placed (and not won a Newmarket) include Falvelon, Sequalo, Hareeba, Umatilla, Redelva, Clay Hero, Rancho Ruler, Rubiton, Always Welcome, Dual Choice, Vivarchi, Easingwold, Lochiel and Carbine.
  • The last grey to win the race was Schillaci in 1992.
  • Horses named after places in Australia to have won in the early days include Lochiel, Parkwood, Carlton and Cranbrook.

Home -- About Greg -- Older Stories -- The Virtual FormGuide

vine.gif (4739 bytes)

blb.gif (108 bytes) trx.gif (807 bytes) brb.gif (108 bytes)


[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Featured Horse

Click on Me
Featured Stallion

Click on Me
Featured Listing

Click on Me
Bill Saunders
Greg Irvine
Peter Mullen
Jenny Barnes
Brian Russell
Quentin Lang
Fiona Tomlin
Berni Saunders
Katrina Partridge
Jo Adams
Martin King
Gaye Gauci
blb.gif (108 bytes) trx.gif (807 bytes) brb.gif (108 bytes)