Home | Virtual FormGuide | Virtual Tipping Team | Cyberhorse Racing Clubs | Virtual Saleyard
blb.gif (108 bytes) trx.gif (807 bytes) brb.gif (108 bytes)
vineh.gif (4503 bytes)
30/07/02 My Hall of Fame Inductees
Twenty more racing legends, both human and equine, will be inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame at the Australian Racing Champions night in Melbourne tonight.

Not being as experienced as most racing journalists in Australia, I may have trouble heading back in time, but I have undertook quite a bit of study over the past few months.

A panel of judges from around Australia have debated a number of names in recent times before finalising their inductees for 2002.

Already in the hall of fame are names like Tommy Smith, Bart Cummings, Colin Hayes, Jack Holt, Carbine, Phar Lap, Bernborough, Kingston Town, Roy Higgins, Darby Munro, Scobie Breasley, Tulloch, the Thompson family, Banjo Patterson, James Scobie, Bill Collins, Tom Hales, Sir Chester Manifold, George Moore and Sir Adrian Knox.

My five horses are a very diverse group. From one of the greatest sprinters of our time to the most versatile galloper to have ever raced in the country. Also included is the most influential sire in Australia's history, one of our toughest stayers and the mightiest female galloper of the early days.

The trainers include a master of the jumps, a wizard of the stayers and legends from today and yesterday.


Star Kingdom
Peter Pan

Special mentions to: Super Impose, Grand Flaneur, Archer, Tobin Bronze, Let's Elope, Amounis, Gloaming, Vain, Octagonal, Rain Lover, Rising Fast, Chatham, Ajax, Might and Power, Rubiton, Poseidon, The Barb, Heroic, Artilleryman, Matrice, Bonecrusher, Surround, Dulcify, Todman, Sky High, Rancher, Better Loosen Up, Saintly, Wenona Girl, Century, Better Boy, Comic Court, Bounding Away, Flight, Galilee, Gunsynd, Lord, Light Fingers, Redcraze, Hydrogen, Schillaci, Eurythmic, Emancipation and Tie the Knot.

To be considered when retired: Sunline


Tom Corrigan
Bobby Lewis
Jim Pike
Ron Quinton
Neville Sellwood

Special mentions to: Mick Dittman, Damien Oliver, John Letts, Pat Glennon, Jim Johnson, Bill Williamson, Kevin Langby, Frank Dempsey, Athol Mulley, Jack Purtell, Harry White, Shane Dye, Darren Beadman, Gary Willetts, Harold Badger and Brent Thomsen.


Angus Armanasco
Etienne de Mestre
George Hanlon
Jim Houlahan
Fred Hoysted

Special mentions to: Lee Freedman, John Hawkes, Walter Hickenbotham, Maurice McCarten, Brian Mayfield-Smith, John Tait, Frank McGrath and Theo Green.


The Wootton family
The Hayes family (Lindsay Park)
The Kelly family (Newhaven Park)
Bert Lillye
Adam Lindsay Gordon

Special mentions to: The Ingham brothers (Woodlands Stud), Bert Bryant, John Tapp, Ken Howard, Joe Thompson, Joe Brown and the Cox family.

The five inductees from each group will be announced this evening and they will be posted on Cyberhorse moments later.

Home -- About Greg -- Older Stories -- The Virtual FormGuide

vine.gif (4739 bytes)

blb.gif (108 bytes) trx.gif (807 bytes) brb.gif (108 bytes)


[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Featured Horse

Click on Me
Featured Stallion

Click on Me
Featured Listing

Click on Me
Bill Saunders
Greg Irvine
Peter Mullen
Jenny Barnes
Brian Russell
Quentin Lang
Fiona Tomlin
Berni Saunders
Katrina Partridge
Jo Adams
Martin King
Gaye Gauci
blb.gif (108 bytes) trx.gif (807 bytes) brb.gif (108 bytes)